02 October 2016

mediatized Houses: The Princely House of Castell-Castell


The Princely House of Castell-Castell

The noble family Castell can be traced back till to the Eastern Frankish Counts of Mattonen traced.
Mentioned it appears already on 03.03.1057 with Rubbrath (Rupert) de Castele  in Castell and called off in 1091 after the headquarters "de Castello". 1202/5 the Family was raised to imperial counts. It had the right to conduct the road from Kitzingen to boys oak (direction Neustadt) and on the entire road from Würzburg to Bamberg.
Burghaslach (the castle Burghaslach) was given as  a fief to the Counts of Castell by Gottfried III. von Hohenlohe, Bishop of Würzburg 1314-1322. 1398 gave King Wenceslas Count Wilhelm I. the mint money right  and so the counts errected  in Volkach a Castell'sche mint a. In  1457 the County Castell became  due to economic problems of Count Wilhelm II.  afterlehen of the Bishopric of Würzburg, but has retained its imperial estate shaft in the future.In the years 1546-1559 the Castell introduced the Reformation in the county. Count Georg II. (1527-1597) related to the division of the county in 1546 temporarily the old castle in Rudenhausen, then chose 1556, the water tower as a permanent residence and seat of government. Thus the line Castell-Rudenhausen was founded. Count Konrad remained in Castell, Heinrich V. (1525-1595) took over maternal inheritance (parts of the County of Wertheim) and built a new castle in Remlingen.
Since 
neither Konrad or Heinrich had male descendants, the county in 1597 was once again divided between the sons of George II.

  • Wolfgang II. became Count of Castell-Remlingen
  • Gottfried became Count of Castell-Rüdenhausen
In 1803 the line Castell-Rüdenhausen became extinct with the death of Count Friedrich Ludwig Christian Carl. and the prooperty fell to the line Castell-Remlingen. It was then diivided between the sons of Count Christian Friedrich Carl.
  • Albrecht Friedrich Carl founded the line Castell-Castell
  • Christian Friedrich founded the line Castell-Rüdenhausen

Castell-Castell

Count Albrecht Friedrich Carl had already since the death of his father in 1793 reigned over the County Castell-Remlingen. After the death of the childless  Count Friedrich Ludwig Christrian Carl of Castell-Rüdenhausen in 1803 the Castell posessions became again united. However he decided to share the posession with his brother Count Christian Friedrich. On 03.09.1806, the county was dissolved by the so-called Act of Confederation. By 25.09.1806 it became part of the Palatinate and Bavaria. The former rulers of Castell were henceforth only Bavarian lords. However, some privileges they could keep, so the domain law, the active fiefs income from seigneurial rights and the so-called patrimonial jurisdiction. After the Napoleonic Wars the county Castell 1806 mediatised and incorporated into the Kingdom of Bavaria. The previous rulers were appointed hereditary "Reichsräte  of the  Bavarian Crown" and participated until 1918 (the end of the Kingdom of Bavaria) in legislation. On 07.03.1901 Count Carl Friedrich zu Castell-Castell were raised to the hereditary bavarian Fürst , ther head of the Family is since then Fürst zu Castell-Castell.
During the reign of the Nazis in the 1930s and 1940s, the since 1774 exisitng Castell'sche Princely Bank added into the new political and economic system. It ranks today, by its own account, the behavior of the Bank towards its Jewish customers not as aggressively, but it was not characterized by special sympathy for the severity of the fate of their Jewish fellow citizens.  The political attitude of the family was the Nazis inclined towards very and you can describe it as linientreu against the system and its values. Carl Fürst zu Castell-Castell joined in May 1933 the NSDAP and rose 1935 cavalry leader of the SA group francs. The sons Albrecht and Philipp joined the "young people" in and participated in events of the Hitler Youth. According to information provided admired Albrecht until well into the Second World War in the perfection and aggression of Hitler's state apparatus and foreign policy. The attidutde of the father Fürst Carl  towards Jews was a negative.  When he was drafted in 1939 as a reserve officer, did the two sons Albrecht and Philipp equal to the Father and also went to war. Albrecht returned in 1945 from the war; his brother and his father fell. Almost 50 years after the war, Fürst Albrecht tried atonement and opened the historical archives of the Bank. He made it possible to investigate the fate of 163 of its Jewish customers. Only a few survived in Germany.
The Family owns among others together with the line Castell-Castell the  Princely Castell Bank, Credit-Casse AG - short Castell-Bank. The independent private bank was founded in 1774 as Counts Castell-Remlingen'sche country credit Cassa and is the oldest bank in Bavaria, with headquarters in Würzburg. 1857 it was re-established as a private Counts Castell'sche New Credit-Casse. They also owns  the The Princely Castell'sche Domänenamt which is the winery of Castell-Castell. The history of Castell is closely associated with viticulture in the region. Already in 1266 the documents in Castell, Hohnart, Schlossberg and Trautberg were documented. The first planting of the Silvaner vines in Germany is doucumented in 1659 in the County Castell.

Counts since 1903 Fürsten zu Castell-Castll
1803-1810 Albrecht Friedrich Carl
married to Princess Sophie Charlotte zu Löwenstein-Wertheim-Virneburg
1810-1875 Friedrich Ludwig
married to Princess Friederike Christiane Emilie zu Hohenlohe-Langenburg
1875-1886 Carl
married to Countess Emma zu Solms-Rödelheim and Assenheim
1886-1923 Friedrich Carl
married to Countess Gertrud zu Stolberg-Wernigerode
1923-1945 Carl
married to Princess Anna Agnes zu Solms-Hohensolms-Lich
1945-2016 Albrecht
married to Princess Marie Luise zu Waldeck and Pyrmont
2016-    Ferdinand
married to Countess Marie-Gabrielle of Degenfeld-Schonburg




TSH the late Fürst Albrecht and Fürstin Marie Luise



HSH Fürst Ferdinand

No comments: